Fox volunteers.jpg

Forty-five volunteers, 9,215 hours donated, $234,300 saved.

Fox Army Health Center recognized their American Red Cross volunteer corps Jan. 29 with an appreciation ceremony at Fox. But for the Fox staff, the volunteers aren’t just appreciated, they are essential.

“It is hard to quantify their contributions because it is so immense,” Maj. Todd Eaves, deputy commander for administration, said. “We couldn’t do our jobs without the help of our Red Cross volunteers.”

Lt. Col. Francis Boudreau, deputy commander for clinical services, conducted the recognition ceremony, noting that the volunteers’ dedication does not just lighten the load, it also makes Fox a better place.

“Thank you for making my life a lot happier,” Boudreau told the volunteers.

The American Red Cross has a tradition of supporting the Soldier. Its founder, Clara Barton, risked her life to bring medical help to Civil War battlefields. That experience led her to form the organization in 1881.

From its beginning, “serving the armed forces is the core of what we did,” said Amy Teeter, regional director for the Georgia district.

Teeter said the Red Cross is looking to add to its volunteer ranks at Fox. The volunteers assist in every department and all aspects of operations. From former service members to civilians to people with medical experience to those who just want to help – all backgrounds are welcome. And while the volunteers certainly cut costs for the center, “it’s more than that – it’s the friendly faces, it’s the knowledge, it’s the customer service,” Eaves said.

The following volunteers were recognized during the ceremony:

Anthony Allen, Darla Andersen, John Arnold, Rose Mary Bayer, Mike Bernier, Braxton Butler, Dr. Cheryl Carter, Roberta Coleman, Daeja Coleman, Fred Crauswell, Beth Cruz, Angela Dennis, Lorri Domingo, Barbara Edwards, Roddric Ellsberry, Jan Fursdon, Mary Graham, Nellie the therapy dog, Robin Graves, Jerry Haynes, Sheila Hershey, David Lampkin, Idova Lewis, Norma Jones, Lois Mackintosh, Jocelyn Manzano, Cherie Miller, Dr. Rick Montgomery, William Monroe, Richard Pitts, Arleen Poindexter, Sylvia Richardson, Susuky Sauers, Erica Smith, Autumn Spears, Kenneth Spencer, Robbin Taylor, Rena Trumbull, Shirley Walker, Linda Wills, Mary Wilson, Janyce Wilson and Sue Zupko.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.