WASHINGTON – All we do is win, win no matter what.

“All I Do Is Win,” the 2010 song by DJ Khaled, was playing on the loudspeakers at the start of Sunday’s 35th annual Army Ten-Miler near the Pentagon. It seemed appropriate for the Redstone Arsenal team on this day.

Redstone won another double repeat in the all-comers division and the government agency division. The Arsenal runners won their 13th straight championship in the government agency division and 11th straight title in the all-comers division. That makes 24 eagle trophies in the 35-year history of the race.

U.S. Sen. Doug Jones, of Alabama, sent the following tweet afterward:

“Congratulations to the team from Redstone on yet another great showing at today’s 35th Army Ten-Miler. Eight runners finished in under 60 minutes and it looks like more trophies are coming to the winningest team in the history of the ATM. Hooah!”

Lt. Col. Marty Wennblom, 40, of Anniston, ran his fastest ever Army Ten-Miler to lead Redstone. His 52 minutes, 25 seconds finish was first overall for masters male runners. He finished 21st out of 35,000 registered runners. He is commander of Defense Logistics Agency Distribution at the Anniston Army Depot under the Army Materiel Command.

“It was beautiful weather and great camaraderie before the race with the team,” Wennblom said. “I felt like the team focus really gave me a great feeling of focus. I ran my fastest three mile, my fastest six mile, my fastest nine mile during a 10-miler.”

His time was more than two minutes faster than his previous best for 10 miles, 54:40, from last year’s race. He ran for Fort Lee, Virginia, in 2008, Fort Irwin, California, in 2009, West Point in 2012 and 2013, and Fort McCoy, Wisconsin, in 2017.

“It seems like the older I get the more I’m improving,” he said. “Training in Alabama gives you an advantage. If you train in the heat of the summer, it gives you great race execution in the fall.

“I’m just glad to be a part of this team of significance because not everybody can win.”

This was Wennblom’s seventh Army Ten-Miler. He led Redstone’s all-comers team which won with a combined time of 3:48:35 for its first four runners. They included Wennblom, Blaise Binns (56:13), Will Bryant (58:34) and Will Rodgers (1:01:23). Other members included David Stout, Sgt. 1st Class Dale Chaffey, Sean Allan and assistant coach Skip Vaughn.

Redstone’s government agency team won with a combined time of 3:53:33 for its first four runners. They included Kyle Miller (57:50), Beck Mitchell (58:22), Daniel Sillivant (58:26), and Ryan Seballos (58:55). Blake Thompson (59:00) also broke one hour. Other members of the team included Matt Casiano, Col. Brian Stehle and coach Harry Hobbs.

Miller, 24, of Huntsville, an aerospace engineer at NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center, was a second-year member of Redstone’s team.

“I thought the weather was amazing and I think that really helped us become the fastest team in team history, eight guys under 60. That’s a big deal,” Miller said. “Personally it’s the best race I’ve had in a long time. Super excited I helped collect two more trophies.”

Stehle, 48, of Huntsville, chief of staff in the directorate of test at the Missile Defense Agency, was a first-year member of the Redstone team. He ran the 2011 Army Ten-Miler as an individual.

“It was a good race, good course and good weather and I’m happy to be a part of this team,” Stehle said.

Hobbs, vice president of Huntsville Utilities employee engagement and a retired chief warrant officer 5, coached the 16-member team for the 15th year.

“This is without a doubt the fastest team in the history of Redstone Arsenal Army Ten-Miler teams,” Hobbs said. “We had eight runners run sub-60s. The running conditions were perfect, several runners had personal records and the team felt humbled to be tweeted by Sen. Doug Jones due to the fact we were recognized as the winningest team in the history of the Army Ten-Miler. We want to thank our sponsors: the Garrison, MWR, AUSA, Redstone Federal Credit Union, Morgan Franklin Consulting, Fleet Feet Sports Huntsville, and NASA Marshall Space Flight Center Running Club.”

Lawi Lalang, 28, of San Antonio, Texas, won the race in 48:38. Elvin Kibet, 29, of San Antonio, was the female winner in 54:05.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.