Nov. 2, 2016, brought game seven of the World Series. The Chicago Cubs sought their first title since 1908 in the decisive game at Progressive Field in Cleveland.

The Cubs took the lead in the top of the first inning on Dexter Fowler’s homer to center.

The host Indians tied the score 1-all in the third when Carlos Santana singled to right, scoring Coco Crisp.

But the Cubs went up 3-1 in the fourth. Addison Russell hit a sacrifice fly to center, scoring Kris Bryant and sending Ben Zobrist to second. Wilson Contreras doubled to deep center, scoring Zobrist.

Chicago went up 5-1 in the fifth. Javier Baez homered to right center. Anthony Rizzo singled to right, scoring Bryant.

But the Indians closed within 5-3 in the bottom of the fifth when Jason Kipnis

and Santana scored on Jon Lester’s wild pitch.

In the sixth, Cubs catcher David Ross homered to center for a 6-3 lead.

The Indians answered in the eighth. Brandon Guyer doubled to right center, scoring Jose Ramirez. Rajai Davis blasted a dramatic two-run homer to left, scoring Guyer and knotting the score 6-all.

In the decisive 10th, Zobrist doubled to left, scoring Albert Almora Jr. and sending Rizzo to third. Miguel Montero singled to left, scoring Rizzo.

The Indians scored in their last chance on Davis’ single to center, scoring Guyer. But that was the final run. The Cubs won 8-7 for their first title in 108 years.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.