Classic replay May 6.jpg

This was like a heavyweight championship fight. Two unbeaten juggernauts were about to slug it out for the national championship.

LSU and Clemson met Jan. 13 at the Superdome in New Orleans for the undisputed crown of college football. No. 1 LSU overcame a sluggish start to win 42-25.

Clemson scored first on a quarterback Trevor Lawrence touchdown. LSU drew even. Clemson went up 17-7 with 10:38 left in the second quarter. LSU made it 17-14 on the ensuing drive after a short touchdown run by quarterback Joe Burrow.

LSU added two more touchdowns for a 28-17 cushion at halftime.

Clemson climbed to within 28-25 but LSU responded again and took a 35-25 lead into the fourth quarter. Early in the fourth quarter, Burrow threw a 24-yard touchdown pass to put LSU up 42-25.

Burrow finished with 449 passing yards on 30 completions with five touchdown passes to go with 58 yards on the ground.

The LSU Tigers (15-0) won the program’s third national championship since 2003 and the first under coach Ed Orgeron.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.